Toronto Public Library Homepage

ESL & Newcomer Programs

Icon of the event LSP: How to (re)launch your Career
Thu Nov 01, 2018 | 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

In the How to (re)launch your Career workshop participants will learn how to tailor their job application to what an employer is looking for and explore how to leverage social media so that recruiters can see their full poten...

Icon of the event LSP: Let's Speak English - Fall Session
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Newcomers with beginner to intermediate level English are invited to learn basic English vocabulary for daily living and working, while improving their listening and conversation skills.


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Oct 11
Thu Oct 25
Thu Nov 08
Icon of the event
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Free 10 week program at Toronto Reference Library. For landed immigrants and convention refugees, 19 years and older with LINC Level 4 and higher. Small group settings with experienced and trained mentors. Informal discussion...


Upcoming Dates:
Tue Oct 09
Tue Oct 16
Tue Oct 23
Tue Oct 30
Tue Nov 06
Icon of the event LSP: Can your resume beat the machine?
Wed Sep 26, 2018 | 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Learn the tips and techniques for creating targeted resumes and cover letters that will really grab employers' attention. Find out about applicant tracking systems and what employers are looking for on your resume.

Icon of the event LSP: Interview to Win
Wed Sep 12, 2018 | 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Learn how to ace that job interview! During this interactive session we will discuss the role and importance of the interview in the job search process and equip you with practical tools, tips, techniques and strategies that ...

Icon of the event LSP: Small Business Resources
Fri Aug 24, 2018 | 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Location: Agincourt

Join us to learn about small business resources and information in Toronto for newcomers.

Icon of the event LSP: Employer Expectations and Mentoring
Wed Aug 22, 2018 | 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

By talking to a mentor who shares your professional background and knows how the local labour market works, you can get a head start on your journey to success in Canada. A mentor can help you: understand Canadian industry tr...

Icon of the event LSP: Starting your business in Canada
Wed Aug 08, 2018 | 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Have you thought about starting your own business? Learn about evaluating your business idea, creating a business plan, business registration & regulation in Canada, costs involved in starting a business, attracting customers...

Icon of the event Shakespeare for ESL students
Wed Aug 01, 2018 | 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Actor-educators will use Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet to build confidence in speaking aloud by connecting participants to the rhythm and images in the text. This is a fun, participatory workshop that will help overcome the...

Icon of the event LSP: Let's Speak English - Summer Session
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Newcomers with beginner to intermediate level English are invited to learn basic English vocabulary for daily living and working, while improving their listening and conversation skills. ...


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Jul 26
Thu Aug 09
Thu Aug 23
Thu Sep 06