Skip Navigation

Crime Writers of Canada


Mon Sep 16, 2019
6:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
90 mins

Moderator ? Elizabeth J. Duncan

Elizabeth J. Duncan is the multiple award-winning author of two traditional mystery series: the well-established Penny Brannigan series set in Wales and Shakespeare in the Catskills.
A former journalist, public relations practioner, and college professor, she divides her time between Toronto and Llandudno, a Victorian seaside resort in beautiful North Wales.

Kim Howe
K.J. Howe is the executive director of ThrillerFest, the annual conference of the International Thriller Writers. Immersed in the world of kidnap and ransom for over six years, K.J.?s series showcases elite kidnapper Thea Paris in her efforts to bring hostages back home. THE FREEDOM BROKER received starred reviews from Kirkus and BookList in addition to winning a Thriller Award for Best First Novel and being nominated for a Barry Award. SKYJACK received a starred review from Library Journal and a boxed and starred review from Publishers Weekly. K.J. completed her Master?s in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. Travel and adventure are K.J.?s passions. Home is Toronto, Canada, but she is often missing in action.

Michael Januska

Michael Januska was born and raised in Windsor. It was while reading works such as Joyce?s Dubliners that he first got the notion to write about the people, streets, and neighbourhoods that make up the Border Cities. After then reading tales from Marty Gervais? The Rumrunners: A Prohibition Scrapbook doors opened to something wild and almost unimaginable.

His first novel in the Border City Blues series, Riverside Drive, was published in 2013. His third novel, Prospect Avenue was published last October and he is currently working on St. Luke Road.

Ken Ogilvie

Ken is a mystery and thriller writer with two novels published by Joffe Books of London, England. Ken has worked for three governments in Canada (Manitoba,Ontario, and Federal) and served for twelve years as the Executive Director of Pollution Probe, a national environmental organization. Ken?s novels are set in eastern Georgian Bay, north of Orillia and Midland. In his latest book, titled HOUND, Detective Rebecca Bradley faces an escaped serial killer whose next target IS THE POLICEWOMAN HERSELF!

Ann Shortell

Ann Shortell is an award-winning non-fiction author. Her debut novel, CELTIC KNOT: A CLARA SWIFT TALE has four American nominations, and three Canadian: Crime Writers of Canada?s 2017 ?Unhanged? Arthur Ellis Award, the 2019 Whistler Independent Book Awards and The Miramichi Reader?s 2019 ?Very Best Book Awards?. Publishers Weekly said "Shortell constructs her gripping historical novel on the bones of an actual incident: the murder of Thomas D'Arcy McGee… told with brio by 15-year-old Clara Swift… Shortell vividly conveys the atmosphere surrounding the murder and examines the profound impact that McGee?s death had on the development of the fledgling nation.?

Join these Authors of the Crime Writers of Canada for a panel discussion covering a wide variety of genres from thrillers to noir, financial crime and true-crime. Authors will discuss their books and their interest in writing about criminal activities.

Program will be held in Room 224. No registration




Author Talks & Lectures