Toronto Public Library Homepage

ESL & Newcomer Programs

Icon of the event Everyday English for Seniors
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm on recurring dates listed below
Bridlewood

Learn English and the Canadian Culture in an encouraging and friendly small group environment....


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Jun 04
Thu Jun 11
Thu Sep 17
Thu Sep 24
Icon of the event Social Benefits (Mandarin)
Thu Jul 23, 2015 | 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Bridlewood

Information on Ontario Works and Ontario Disabililty Support Program....

Icon of the event Volunteer!
Tue Aug 11, 2015 | 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Burrows Hall

Learn how to volunteer, create work experience, improve your resume and help others while you help yourself. Register at the Branch or call, 416-396-8740.

Icon of the event
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm on recurring dates listed below
Burrows Hall

Free 10 week program at Burrows Hall Library in partnership with CultureLink. For landed immigrants and convention refugees,19yrs and older with LINC level 4 and up. Small group settings with experienced and trained mentors. ...


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Jul 23
Thu Jul 30
Thu Aug 06
Thu Aug 13
Thu Aug 20
Icon of the event Senior Benefits (Mandarin)
Wed Jul 15, 2015 | 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Bridlewood

Part of the LSP Monthly Newcomer Seniors' Group (in Mandarin), this sessions will provide information on Old Age Security, senior drug benefit, senior housing, home care and nursing home, and senior recreation....

Icon of the event Senior Housing (Mandarin)
Wed Aug 19, 2015 | 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Bridlewood

As part of the LSP Monthly Newcomers Seniors' Group (in Mandarin), information about different housing choices available to seniors. Learn about eligibility and application for subsidized or non-subsidized senior housing....

Icon of the event Healthy Food and Nutrition (Mandarin)
Tue Sep 08, 2015 | 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Bridlewood

Part of the LSP Monthly Newcomer Seniors' Group (in Mandarin), learn healthy eating habits from the Canadian Food Guide....

Icon of the event
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm on recurring dates listed below
Burrows Hall

Free 10 week program at Burrows Hall Library in partnership with CultureLink. For landed immigrants and convention refugees,19yrs and older with LINC level 4 and up. Small group settings with experienced and trained mentors. ...


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Jun 04
Thu Jun 11
Icon of the event English Conversation Circle
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Bridlewood

Weekly 2-hour sessions for newcomers to practice listening & speaking English and improve communication skills....


Upcoming Dates:
Wed Jun 03
Wed Jul 08
Wed Jul 15
Wed Jul 22
Icon of the event Home Buying (Mandarin)
Thu Jun 25, 2015 | 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Bridlewood

Overview of Canadian Real Estate Market and the steps involved in purchasing a home....