Toronto Public Library Homepage

Book Clubs & Writers' Groups

Icon of the event  Workshop: The Nuts and Bolts of Fiction Writing
Wed Oct 29, 2014 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
North York Central Library

Make your stories the best they can be! Learn how Point of View, Verb Tense, Modifiers, Language Use and Literary Devices affect the "feel" of a story. Discover how to develop realistic characters, settings, and plots. Find o...

Icon of the event  Workshop: Creative Writing Kick Start
Mon Nov 10, 2014 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
North York Central Library

Eliminate "Writer's Block!" Discover new ideas for stories you didn't even know you had! Transform your experiences, ideas, and feelings into great stories! Using fun, real-time writing cues and prompts, you can leave this wo...

Icon of the event Book Discussion Club
1:30 pm - 2:30 pm on recurring dates listed below
Northern Elms

Come and share your love of books and listen to others present their favourites in an informal, lively setting.


Upcoming Dates:
Fri Sep 12
Fri Oct 10
Fri Nov 14
Fri Dec 12
Icon of the event Writer in Residence Richard Scarsbrook - Farewell Event
Sat Nov 29, 2014 | 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
North York Central Library

Richard Scarsbrook will share stories and insights from his residency, and participants will get to hear for the first time some of the writing he created during his residency. As a special treat, writers who were mentored by...

Icon of the event North York Writers
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm on recurring dates listed below
North York Central Library

Members of the North York Writers meet regularly at North York Central Library in an informal, supportive atmosphere to read their work and critique the work of members. Writers of all genres are welcome. We focus on feedbac...


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Sep 11
Thu Sep 25
Thu Oct 09
Thu Oct 23
Thu Nov 13
Icon of the event Learn to Write Creative Non-Fiction
Fri Nov 14, 2014 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Pape/Danforth

Want to write your own story? Want to explore writing creative non-fiction? Come meet Donna Kakonge, an author of several published works, including 'How to Talk to Crazy People' and 'How to Write Creative Non-Fiction'....

Icon of the event Beaches Library Writers' Group
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Beaches

Do you write fiction, non-fiction, or poetry? Share and Develop your skills in a supportive environment. Bring a piece of your writing to read aloud. Maximum length: 2 pages. Come prepared to offer and receive constructive co...


Upcoming Dates:
Sat Sep 06
Sat Oct 04
Sat Nov 01
Icon of the event Tea & Books
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Mimico Centennial

Discuss new books and old favourites with library staff. Call branch at 416-394-5330 for more information.


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Sep 25
Thu Oct 30
Thu Nov 27
Icon of the event Tea and Books
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Rexdale

An hour long book talk and get together


Upcoming Dates:
Tue Sep 09
Tue Oct 14
Tue Nov 11
Tue Dec 09
Icon of the event Teen Writers' Group (Ages 13 -19)
4:30 pm - 6:30 pm on recurring dates listed below
North York Central Library

(Ages 13 -19)...


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Sep 11
Thu Sep 25