Toronto Public Library Homepage

Book Clubs & Writers' Groups

Icon of the event Learn to Write Creative Non-Fiction
Fri Nov 14, 2014 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Pape/Danforth

Want to write your own story? Want to explore writing creative non-fiction? Come meet Donna Kakonge, an author of several published works, including 'How to Talk to Crazy People' and 'How to Write Creative Non-Fiction'....

Icon of the event National Novel Writing Month: Write In
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Pape/Danforth

NaNoWriMo is an annual (November) novel writing project that brings together professional and amateur writers from all over the world....


Upcoming Dates:
Mon Nov 03
Mon Nov 17
Icon of the event Mark Kingwell: The Toronto Writers Co-op Interview
Thu Nov 13, 2014 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Toronto Reference Library

Author and U of T professor of philosophy Mark Kingwell discusses the philosopher's life and craft with host, John Miller.

Icon of the event East End Storytellers Group
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Morningside

Open to storytellers of all levels including those just learning to share and tell stories. Story-listeners are also welcome. Share your love of stories and storytelling with others in a supportive environment. All are welcom...


Upcoming Dates:
Wed Oct 15
Wed Nov 19
Wed Dec 17
Icon of the event Afternoon Book Club
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Albert Campbell

Afternoon Book Club meets at 2:00 p.m., the fourth Friday of every month and is open to all interested book lovers in the community. For more information or to register visit the branch or call 416-396-8890....


Upcoming Dates:
Fri Sep 26
Fri Oct 24
Fri Nov 28
Icon of the event 2014 Evergreen Book Discussion
Wed Oct 15, 2014 | 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Danforth/Coxwell

Evergreen Book Club members meet to discuss and vote on the Ontario Library Association's 2014 Evergreen Nominees. Please register at the informtion desk.

Icon of the event Ladies First Book Club
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm on recurring dates listed below
Eglinton Square

Members discuss a book by a woman author or about women read by the group. Call 416-396-8920 to register.


Upcoming Dates:
Mon Oct 20
Mon Nov 10
Mon Dec 08
Icon of the event Tea and Books
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Northern Elms

Join Library staff for entertaining book talks. Refreshments will be provided.


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Oct 02
Thu Nov 06
Thu Dec 04
Thu Jan 01
Icon of the event Writers' Group
Ongoing event running from Mon Mar 10, 2014 - Mon Dec 29, 2014
Parliament Street

Do you need feedback on your writing? Read from and discuss your works in progress: prose, poetry, essays. Mondays 6:30-8:00 pm.

Icon of the event Toronto Writers' Co-operative
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Toronto Reference Library

The Toronto Writers' Co-op offers weekly workshops, guest authors, member readings, open mic and publications--your opportunity to polish, publish and perform your work.


Upcoming Dates:
Sun Sep 28
Sun Oct 05
Sun Oct 19
Sun Oct 26
Sun Nov 02