Toronto Public Library Homepage
Icon of the event Exchanging Notes: the interview with Robyn Sarah
Thu Mar 23, 2017 | 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

2015 Governor General Award-winning poet Robyn Sarah discusses the writer's life and craft. Robyn's several volumes of poetry include My Shoes Are Killing Me, Pause for Breath, and A Day's Grace. Robyn is a recipient of a Nat...

Icon of the event Toronto Writers' Co-operative
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Weekly workshops, usually on Sundays (except in July and August when it is bi-weekly), guest authors, member readings, open mic and publications - your opportunity to polish and perform your work. Please be advised that Sat. ...


Upcoming Dates:
Sun Feb 26
Sun Mar 05
Sun Mar 12
Sun Mar 19
Sun Mar 26
Icon of the event Writer in Residence Pasha Malla Workshop: Beginnings
Sat Mar 04, 2017 | 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Participants will discuss examples of strong opening scenes in short stories and the fundamentals of situating a reader in a fictional world, establishing conflict and creating a captivating narrative voice. Participants will...

Icon of the event Memoir Writing Introductory Course
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Always wanted to write your family's story or your story but need motivation and guidance? Author, editor and writing instructor, Sharon A. Crawford will get you writing your story. Using prompts such as the six senses to kic...


Upcoming Dates:
Tue Apr 04
Tue Apr 11
Tue Apr 18
Tue Apr 25
Icon of the event Parent and Child Book Club
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Bloor/Gladstone

Join our monthly family book club. For ages 9-12 with a parent/caregiver. Space is limited. Register in person or call 416-393-7674.


Upcoming Dates:
Mon Feb 27
Mon Mar 27
Mon Apr 24
Mon May 29
Icon of the event Writer in Residence Pasha Malla Discussion: The Writer-Editor Relationship
Sat Mar 18, 2017 | 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Location: Toronto Reference Library

Lynn Henry of Knopf Canada and Pasha Malla will discuss their relationship as editor and writer, from the submission and selection of an initial manuscript, through the revision process, to eventual publication....

Icon of the event Deer Park Evening Book Club.
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Deer Park

Deer Park Evening Book Club. Read and discuss contemporary novels, selected by the group, in a relaxed setting. New members welcome! Third Tuesday of the month, Room 204, doors open at 6 PM, discussion from 6:30-7:30 (some...


Upcoming Dates:
Tue Mar 21
Tue Apr 18
Tue May 16
Tue Jun 20
Icon of the event Historical Fiction Writers' Group
10:00 am - 12:30 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Toronto Reference Library

HFWG members normally meet biweekly (except in July & August) to present and critique manuscripts....


Upcoming Dates:
Sat Mar 04
Sat Mar 25
Sat Apr 01
Sat Apr 29
Sat May 27
Icon of the event Deer Park Afternoon Book Club
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Deer Park

Deer Park Afternoon Book Club. Read and discuss contemporary novels, selected by the group, in a relaxed setting. Membership is currently full; to join the wait list ask at the Reference desk. Fourth Wednesday of the month, ...


Upcoming Dates:
Wed Mar 22
Wed Apr 26
Wed May 24
Icon of the event Beaches Library Shakespeare Readers Club
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Location: Beaches

Have fun reading Shakespeare aloud. Participants can either volunteer to read or simply listen....


Upcoming Dates:
Sat Mar 18