Toronto Public Library Homepage

Book Clubs & Writers' Groups

Icon of the event  Deer Park Book Club. Contemporary Books.The Clothes on Their Backs. Linda Grant
Tue Jan 20, 2015 | 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm
Deer Park

Set in 1970s London, The Clothes on Their Backs by Orange Prize winner and Man Booker Prize short listed author, Linda Grant, creates an appealing portrait of Vivien Kovacs, isolated from regular society by her timid Hungari...

Icon of the event Toronto Writers' Co-operative
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Toronto Reference Library

The Toronto Writers' Co-op offers weekly workshops, guest authors, member readings, open mic and publications--your opportunity to polish, publish and perform your work.


Upcoming Dates:
Sun Jan 11
Sun Jan 18
Sun Jan 25
Sun Feb 01
Sun Feb 08
Icon of the event European Book Club
Thu Jan 29, 2015 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Toronto Reference Library

The European Book Club is a co-operation of the European Union National Institutes for Culture (EUNIC) in Toronto. Read and discuss books by contemporary European authors, in English translation. This evening, the novel 'The ...

Icon of the event Tea and Books.
Tue Jan 20, 2015 | 2:00 pm - 3:15 pm
Deer Park

Discussion of old and new favourites by staff.

Icon of the event Une Causerie Littéraire
Tue Feb 10, 2015 | 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Toronto Reference Library

Venez découvrir votre prochain coup-de-coeur durant cette discussion de romans classiques, contemporains, et graphiques.

Icon of the event Dennis Bock: The Toronto Writers' Co-op Interview
Thu Mar 19, 2015 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Toronto Reference Library

Novelist Dennis Bock discusses the writer's life and craft with host John Miller. Copies of Dennis Bock's books will be available for sale and signing.

Icon of the event European Book Club
Thu Mar 12, 2015 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Toronto Reference Library

The European Book Club is a co-operation of the European Union National Institutes for Culture (EUNIC) in Toronto. Read and discuss books by contemporary European authors, in English translation. This evening will be presente...

Icon of the event Non-fiction Book Club
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm on recurring dates listed below
Toronto Reference Library

A book club for people looking to read thought-provoking books. If you like to read non-fiction, this is the place!...


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Jan 22
Thu Feb 26
Thu Mar 26
Icon of the event Beaches Book Club
7:00 pm - 8:15 pm on recurring dates listed below
Beaches

Friendly, informal discussion group. We read mostly literary fiction, some non-fiction, new books and old ones too.


Upcoming Dates:
Thu Apr 02
Icon of the event European Book Club
Tue Feb 03, 2015 | 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Toronto Reference Library

The European Book Club is a co-operation of the European Union National Institutes for Culture (EUNIC) in Toronto. Read and discuss books by contemporary European authors, in English translation. This evening, the novel 'Stup...