The luster of lost things

2017, Book , 324 pages ;
Place Hold
21 holds /

 10 copies

3527691
Summary/Review: "A fablelike debut for readers of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Rebecca Makkai's The Borrower, in which a boy wi more...
Summary/Review: "A fablelike debut for readers of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Rebecca Makkai's The Borrower, in which a boy with an uncanny ability to find lost objects must embark on his most important search yet in order to save his mother's enchanted dessert shop, the only place he's ever called home. There's only one place in the world that lonely twelve-year-old Walter Lavender Jr. feels at home: The Lavenders, his mother's unusual West Village dessert shop, where meringues scud through displays like clouds, marzipan dragons breathe actual fire, and the airy angel food cake can make customers pounds lighter. When the mysterious and magical Book at the heart of the shop vanishes and a landlord threatens closure, it's up to Walter to find the Book and save the shop. Despite--or because of--a communication disorder that renders him speechless and friendless, Walter has a special ability to find lost things. In fact, the only thing he's failed to find is his father, a pilot lost in a presumed plane crash at sea before Walter was born. Accompanied by Milton, his best friend and overweight golden retriever, Walter's quest will take him around and under New York City, into subway tunnels and soaring over Central Park, from bottle collecting in Chinatown to racing through the Met, and introduce him to the extraordinary and forgotten people of this fantastical city. Along the way he will discover his voice and learn what it means to truly be found"--
  • Subjects
  • Copies and Availability
    Loading branch holdings...
    Branch Format Location Status Call Number
    Barbara Frum
    Book Due: 27/10/2017 On loan FICTION KEL
    Eglinton Square
    Book On Hold Shelf On Hold Shelf FICTION KEL
    Humber Summit - Closed for Renovation
    Book Unavailable during Closure Unavailable during Closure FICTION KEL
    Leaside
    Book In Transit In Transit FICTION KEL
    Main Street
    Book Due: 7/11/2017 On loan FICTION KEL
    Maryvale
    Book Due: 27/10/2017 On loan FICTION KEL
    Richview
    Book On Hold Shelf On Hold Shelf FICTION KEL
    Runnymede
    Book Due: 11/10/2017 On loan FICTION KEL
    S. Walter Stewart
    Book Due: 23/10/2017 On loan FICTION KEL
    Sunnybrook
    Book On Hold Shelf On Hold Shelf FICTION KEL
    Yorkville
    Book Due: 27/10/2017 On loan FICTION KEL