Toronto Public Library Homepage

A - Z List of All Databases


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Z
Full-text articles from a wide range of academic magazines and journals.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Bibliographic tool on United States and Canadian history and culture.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Genealogy research tool gives access to over 1 billion names, 3000 databases and primary resources.
Scientific and technical articles. Full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Index to print sources. Toronto buildings, parks, public sculpture, contemporary built environment.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Articles on art, architecture and related topics.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Past articles on art topics from 1929-1984.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

A list identifying the location of files on Canadian artists. Includes the 9 volume work 'A Dictionary of Canadian Artists'.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Canadian and International associations that represent industry, commercial and professional groups, registered charities and special interest groups.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Popular and classic eAudiobooks for children and adults. Listen online (no downloading).

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Index to articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Contains over 400,000 biographies on more than 320,000 people as well as full-text articles.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Information and reviews books, audiobooks, videos. Currently available and forthcoming books.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Includes the complete print version of Encyclopedia Britannica. Also Britannica Kids.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
International in scope, contains company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, market reports, chronologies an ...

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Core skills for business writing including letters, reports, emails, etc.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full-text articles, videos, audio files, vetted web sites etc. on a broad range of topics, people, places and events.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Information on statistics, demographics, government agencies, media, libraries and arts and culture.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Provides information both on CASW initiatives and on the activities of its member associations.
Over 40,000 reviews of Canadian-authored English language books spanning the last 35 years and covering scholarly, reference, trade, children's, and y ...

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full-text business and general interest articles from popular, academic and business periodicals.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
3,000+ Canadian grant-making foundations, 400+ corporations, government funding programs and U.S. foundations that support Canadian nonprofits.
Full text. Includes Junior Encyclopedia of Canada and Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Organizations, regulators, governmental agencies and product and service companies.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full text articles from major Canadian newspapers and television news transcripts.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
All newspapers published by Torstar Media Group that are available electronically.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Information and biographies on elected and appointed members of the federal and provincial governments.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Articles from general, academic and business magazines. Index from 1988, full text from 1995.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Social issues in Canada. Essays on controversial issues from a Canadian perspective.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Biographical information on over 20,000 prominent Canadians.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Interactive career guidance resource with in-depth profiles of careers, colleges and universities.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Choose French interface for interactive career guidance and education resource.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full text criticism of children's and young adults' literature.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Online repair manuals, maintenance schedules, service bulletins and more.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full-text magazines. Simplified & traditional characters for adults. Children, simplified only.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Articles from journals covering computer, telecommunications and electronics industries.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Health and medical information from a wide range of sources.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Expert, independent, nonprofit product testing and current issues of the magazine. Includes "Extra Canada" with Canadian pricing and availability.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Accounting auditing and services guidelines and more.

Available at North York Central Library and Toronto Reference Library. For use in library only. Ask a librarian.

Information about prescription drugs, including generics and therapies for medical disorders.
Biographies, reference books, crossword solver, foreign language dictionaries, current events.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Index to articles on art and design from 1973. Covers 50,000 designers and craftspeople.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
In-depth credit analysis of corporate, financial institutions and government issues in North America and other markets.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Covers persons who died between the years 1000 and 1930 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years. English and French entries.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Full-text scientific and scholarly journals covering all subjects and many languages.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Digitized collection of early Canadian publications from early settlers to the early 20th century.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full text of Canadian Encyclopedia in French.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Information about film and television (some full-text), includes FIAF Plus, the American Film Institute Catalog and Film Index International.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Information on Canadian publicly traded companies, private companies, Crown corporations and municipal and provincial agencies as well as predecessors ...

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Information about banks, law firms, financial institutions and accountants across Canada.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Directories of associations, broadcast media, brands, business information, consultants, and publications.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full text research books. Includes Business Plan Handbooks and Grizmek's Animal Life Encyclopedia.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full-text articles from a wide range of popular interest magazines and journals.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Indexed and full-text articles about gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered culture and issues.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
A selection of high-quality articles about international issues and current events, grouped by topic and country/region.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online

Service Update

We are aware of ongoing issues with some content being unavailable or low-resolution in this product. The vendor is in the process of resolving this issue, which is expected to take several weeks to completely repair. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Full page reproductions of the complete newspaper. Fully searchable. From 1844 until 2011.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Scholarly, government and general interest sources relating to the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Medical information from 700 periodicals plus full text reference books. Health News.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Academic & personal medical and health information. Full text of nursing and allied health journals.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Index to articles on world history from 1450 - excluding USA and Canada.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Borrow digital music and video to stream in your web browser or enjoy offline on your smartphone or tablet. Hoopla requires the one-time creation of a ...

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Practice tests with answers. Prepare for the International English Language Testing System exam.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Archive of important scholarly journals, not current editions for arts, science and the humanities.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Magazines and reference books. Current events, popular culture, people, government, sports and more.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Current information from magazines and newspapers for children in kindergarten to grade 5.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Information on international companies, products and services, trade names and executives.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Encyclopedia in French plus several European language dictionaries.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Canadian legislation, case law and commentaries, Index to Canadian Legal Literature.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Practice tests & answers for all ages. Entrance exams, math, grammar, job search and more.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full text literary research sources. Contemporary, children's, plays, poetry, classical and more.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Authors, analysis and literary criticism. Biographical and critical coverage from all time periods.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Rankings and comparisons for 50 of Canada's largest cities on demographics, housing, education, income, labour, transportation, ethnicity, immigration ...

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Learn a new language or improve your English.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Current industry trends and product development. News on companies and industries worldwide.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Contains global financial data on public companies including business descriptions, fundamental data, key financial ratios, earnings estimates, stock ...

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Scholarly and popular periodicals include education, musicology, music theory. Starts from 1874.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Lessons and practice tests on Canadian history, geography, government & culture.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Index to five key USA papers - Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Reliable information on alternative health therapies, herbs, vitamins, brand name products.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Listen to great music spanning medieval to modern - classical, jazz, electronic, world music etc. and find expert educational content.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Listen to a comprehensive collection of jazz legends and contemporary jazz. Includes labels such as Blue Note, EMI, Warner Jazz and Fantasy Jazz.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Full text articles from International and Canadian newspapers.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Find your next read for kids. Fiction and nonfiction reading suggestions for children.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Find your next read, fiction and nonfiction, by author, title, subject, genre.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Downloadable audiobooks you can listen to on a computer, iPod or other portable player. Includes current and popular fiction and nonfiction.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Pro/con essays on current social issues. Great for students writing assignments, presentations, debate preparation, and general research.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Our largest eBook collection. Includes current and popular fiction and nonfiction, as well as audiobooks and some music and video.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
eBooks for children, including picture books, chapter books, and audiobooks you can download or read online.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Comprehensive source for visual arts includes decorative arts, architecture, photography, fashion.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
The Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE and its legacy and influence in subsequent centuries.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Encyclopedia on the role women have played throughout world history. Timeline, biographies, women's issues by region.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
A range of premier music resources including the Grove Dictionary of Music and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Animals, Earth and Space for the youngest learners.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Scholarly and popular periodicals on theater, dance, film, television and more. Starts from 1874.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Tables of contents of periodicals in arts, humanities, social sciences. International. 1665-1995.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

French Canadian genealogy resource featuring records from the Drouin collection. Includes baptisms, marriages, deaths, obituaries, family histories, n ...

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

An introduction to Euromonitor International's industry and country research with reports for 80 countries and daily articles and opinions from indust ...

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
The latest books and videos from major technology and business publishers. Covers web and software development, management, marketing, and more.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Access more than 275,000+ consumer electronics manuals that are used to repair TVs, VCRs, Radios, etc. and that date from 1925 to today.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Health and medical information in French from Consumer Health Complete.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Contextual information on significant science topics.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Index, abstracts and full text articles from leading periodicals in science and technology. 1983 -

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches and from home. Ask a librarian.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Information about Canadian agencies and companies in manufacturing, government, medical and educational sectors. Search product, type, location etc.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
The complete plays (Arden ed.), criticism on Shakespeare works and performance, full-text scholarly periodicals.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Illustrated profiles of children's authors and illustrators.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Census data from Statistics Canada. Population counts, education, family, household statistics, etc.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Census data from Statistics Canada. Population counts, education, family, household statistics, etc.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

Full-text and indexed magazine and newspaper articles, online reference books, audio files.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
How to write and research. Practice tests with answers for high school and college students.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Help with diseases, drugs and alcohol, nutrition and fitness, mental and emotional health and more.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Lessons and practice tests help improve English grammar. Elementary to advanced levels and ESL.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
French-English-Spanish terms, synonyms, definitions, usage.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Full page reproductions of the complete newspaper. Fully searchable. From 1894 to 2012.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
eBook picture books for kids. Listen or read along.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Listen and read along - includes books for older elementary, middle and high school readers, Shakespeare plays, etc.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Listen and read along - includes early reader chapter books, children's classics, graphic novels, etc.

Available anywhere.

Access Online
Information on magazines, journals, newspapers. Lists online availability and sources of articles or indexing.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Value Line provides stock reports and covers most actively traded U.S. exchange-listed stocks, small and mid-cap stocks, mutual funds, options, conver ...

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
The entire run of Vogue Magazine, in full text and full colour from 1892 to the present.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Search library catalogues from all over the world through one interface.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online
Current issues of popular magazines: news, business, entertainment, fashion, and more. Download to your computer, tablet, or phone.

Available anywhere.

Sign in with library card.

Access Online