Skip Navigation
Toronto Public Library Homepage
You are not signed in.
  • Advanced
  • Old Catalogue
  • Your Account
  • Contact Us
  • Reserve a Computer
  • Français
  • Books, Video, Research & more
    • Books
      • New Adult Fiction
      • New Children's Fiction
      • New Teen Fiction
      • Award Winners
      • Best Sellers
      • We Recommend
      • Book Clubs
    • Movies & Video
      • New Adult DVDs
      • New Holdable Adult DVDs
      • New Children's DVDs
      • New Holdable Children's DVDs
    • Music
      • New Adult Music
    • Downloads & eBooks
    • Articles & Online Research
      • A - Z List of All Databases
    • Recommended Websites
    • Material in Your Language
    • Special Collections & Rare Books
    • Digital Archive
    Close Menu
  • Programs, Classes & Exhibits
    • Kids & Families
    • Teens
    • Author Talks & Lectures
    • Book Clubs & Writer's Groups
    • Business, Legal & Personal Finance
    • Career & Job Search
    • Computer & Library Training
    • Newcomer & ESL Programs
    • Health & Wellness
    • Hobbies, Crafts & Games
    • Appel Salon Programs
    • Exhibits & Displays
    • March Break Programs
    • Thought Exchange
    • Writer-in-Residence
    Close Menu
  • Hours & Locations
    • A-Z List of Branches
    • Sunday Hours
    • Branch Renovations
    • Bookmobiles
    Close Menu
  • Using the Library
    • Services
      • Museum + Arts Pass
      • Computers, Internet Access & Digital Services
      • Meeting Room Rentals
    • Help
      • Account Help
      • Help with Searching
      • Troubleshooting Technical Problems
    • Your Library Card
    • Borrowing Materials
    • Placing Holds
    Close Menu

Articles & Online Research

Database Topic

Arts  (18)
Biography & Genealogy  (11)
Business & Companies  (31)
Canadian Resources  (31)
Careers & Job Search  (15)
Children's Resources  (15)
Computers  (4)
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries  (18)
ESL - English as a Second Language  (7)
French Resources  (13)
Health & Medicine  (11)
History  (17)
Learning & Education  (14)
Literature, Books, Reading & Writing  (24)
Magazines & Newspapers  (22)
Math, Science & Technology  (18)
Music & Performing Arts  (4)
Non-English Resources  (5)
Religion & Philosophy  (5)
Social Sciences  (26)

Article & Selected Databases Search

e.g. soccer, "hybrid cars"

Keywords:

Search by database
Search by subject



Magazine, newspaper or journal title

e.g. Consumer Reports, Vanity Fair, The Globe and Mail


Title:


A - Z List of Databases

Go directly to a database you already know.
e.g. Encyclopedia Britannica, NoveList, Auto Repair and more.

Complete list of premium content databases



Page:

Page:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • Next

Icon image of Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile

Full-text articles from a wide range of academic magazines and journals.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of America History and Life
America History and Life

Bibliographic tool on United States and Canadian history and culture.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.
Icon image of Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition

Genealogy research tool gives access to over 1 billion names, 3000 databases and primary resources.

Access Online from a Library Computer
Icon image of Applied Science & Technology
Applied Science & Technology

Service Update

We are currently experiencing problems with access to this database.

Scientific and technical articles. Full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Architectural Index for Ontario
Architectural Index for Ontario

Index to print sources. Toronto buildings, parks, public sculpture, contemporary built environment.

Available anywhere
Access Online
Icon image of Art Full Text and Art Retrospective
Art Full Text and Art Retrospective

Service Update

We are currently experiencing problems with access to this database.

Articles on art, architecture and related topics.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Artists in Canada
Artists in Canada

A list identifying the location of files on Canadian artists. Includes the 9 volume work 'A Dictionary of Canadian Artists'.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Associations Canada
Associations Canada

Canadian and International associations that represent industry, commercial and professional groups, registered charities and special interest groups.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Associations Unlimited
Associations Unlimited

U.S. national, regional and local associations and some international associations.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Audio Book Cloud
Audio Book Cloud

eAudiobooks for adults and children. Listen without downloading first.

Available anywhere
Access Online
Icon image of Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Index to articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Biography & Genealogy Master Index

Biography and genealogy information. People, both living and deceased, from around the world.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Biography in Context
Biography in Context

Contains over 400,000 biographies on more than 320,000 people as well as full-text articles.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Books and Authors
Books and Authors

Fiction by genre, interesting nonfiction. Plot summaries, award winners, read-alikes.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Books in Print (Global)
Books in Print (Global)

Information and reviews books, audiobooks, videos. Currently available and forthcoming books.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Britannica Online
Britannica Online

Includes the complete print version of Encyclopedia Britannica. Also Britannica Kids.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Business and Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center

Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Business Writing
Business Writing

Core skills for business writing including letters, reports, emails, etc.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online
Icon image of Canada Employment Weekly
Canada Employment Weekly

Canada Employment Weekly lists full-time job opportunities across Canada.

Online access available in Toronto Reference and North York Central branches only. Ask a librarian.
Icon image of Canada in Context
Canada in Context

Full-text articles, videos, audio files, vetted web sites etc. on a broad range of topics, people, places and events.

Available anywhere
Sign in with library card
Access Online

Page:

Page:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • Next


Need help?

  • Email
  • Phone
    416-393-7131
    Hours of operation
  • Chat
  • Help & Troubleshooting



About the Library
  • Mission, Vision & Values
  • Customer Feedback Standards & Practices
  • Strategic Plan & Annual Reports
  • History of the Library
  • Library Board
  • Jobs at the Library
  • Doing Business with the Library
Blogs & Publications
  • Blog Networks & Feeds
  • Print Publications
  • Local History Publications
Accessibility
  • Accessibility at Library Branches
  • Services for People
    with Disabilities
  • Mobile Library Services
  • Collections for People
    with Disabilities
  • TTY Service
Terms of Use
& Library Policies
  • Online Privacy &
    Access to Information
  • All Library Policies
Media Relations
& News Releases
  • Media Contacts
  • Key Facts
Support Your Library
  • TPL Foundation
  • Friends of the Library
  • Volunteering
Donate Now
Connect with Us
  • Email Newsletter Icon Sign Up for Our eNewsletter
  • Blogs by Librarians Icon Blogs by Librarians
  • Facebook Icon Facebook
  • Twitter Icon Twitter
  • Youtube Icon YouTube
  • Flickr Icon Flickr
Toronto Public Library © 2012
Help    |    Contact Us